General characteristics of Yazd province

  • -
  • +

Area and situation

Yazd with an area of 74781 km2 (4.6 % of the total country's area) is the eighth extensive province of the country and is situated in the central plateau of Iran alongside the Kavir and Loot deserts and median between 52 degrees 50 minutes to 58 degrees 16 minutes East longitude and 29 degrees 35 minutes to 35 degrees 7 minutes North latitude neighboring Semnan province from the Northeast, Isfahan province from the west, Fars from the South and the Southwest, Khorasan-e-Jonubi from the East, Kerman from the East and the Southeast. With regard to administrative and official divisions the province has 10 counties, 21 districts, 45 dehestan (rural agglomerations), and 21 cities.